Beginner Question – Gamecube through OSSC

NewHome Forums OSSC & OSSC Pro OSSC – Discussion and support Beginner Question – Gamecube through OSSC

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    GrahamC
    Participant

Hi folks,
    Beginner here with a beginner question! Very grateful if anyone can advise.
    I have been using a Megadrive through the OSSC (Scart cable) and works wonderfully, no problems.

I’m now trying to connect my Gamecube. I have the standard AVI component cable with the GC (outputs to red, white, yellow)
    I’ve tried plugging the AVI component into a scart adapter (just a straight adapter), then plugging the scart into the OSSC (pictured AV1). The sound gets through but no visuals.

Am I correct in assuming that I need a composite or RGB cable ‘out’ from the Gamecube to use with the OSSC? I’ve copied in images below from the user manual for reference.
    OSSC1

Many thanks in advance!

BuckoA51
    Keymaster

Am I correct in assuming that I need a composite or RGB cable ‘out’ from the Gamecube to use with the OSSC? I’ve copied in images below from the user manual for reference.

No, you need a component or RGB cable, OSSC does not support composite video (unless you use a transcoder/converter like the Koryuu)

• This reply was modified 8 months, 1 week ago by BuckoA51.
    GrahamC
    Participant

Thank you very much (as you can tell I get confused between ‘component’ and ‘composite’!)

Would something like this be suitable? Packapunch Pro RGB

BuckoA51
    Keymaster

Yes although keep in mind you would be limited to 480i with that. For 480p, try something like the GCHD adapters https://videogameperfection.com/products/gchd-mk-ii-hdmi-hd-adapter-for-gamecube/

You also need compatible software (NTSC versions of games or homebrew like Swiss) to access 480p mode in Gamecube titles.

GrahamC
    Participant