Strange alternating brightness effect on Bomberman 3 water levels (SNES)

NewHome Forums OSSC, OSSC Pro and DExx-vd isl OSSC – Discussion and support Strange alternating brightness effect on Bomberman 3 water levels (SNES)

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    RowanSFC
    Participant

So I started playing Bomberman 3 (SNES) and all seemed fine until I reached World 3: the level theme has a water effect which “swishes” the entire screen. I mention that in case it has something to do with the problem: the brightness of the screen seems to change intermittantly, every few seconds.. it gets darker, then returns to full brightness, then dims again. I tried to capture it with my phone but the camera keeps auto adjusting every time the brightness changes, so the effect doesn’t get picked up! Any ideas guys? I will try again in the coming days to capture a video, if I can change the settings in my phone camera to not auto adjust brightness.

I know the OSSC dims the screen if there is no movement in a long time (like when you pause a game for a while). But this dimming/lightning is happening during normal gameplay.. very strange.

BuckoA51
    Keymaster

I know the OSSC dims the screen if there is no movement in a long time (like when you pause a game for a while). But this dimming/lightning is happening during normal gameplay.. very strange.

OSSC definitely does not do this, if you’re seeing that it’s probably some picture processing/eye strain reduction thing on your display.

RowanSFC
    Participant

OK I take your point. But.. the OSSC can detect a paused game and applies the dimming affect automatically, right? What (if any) other scenarios is the OSSC automatically trying to detect, if any? Just pause? ….or is it my LG B8 telly which auto dims when a static image is present for ~1min?